Highlights of the weekends cricket at Taita

Rohit Chaudhary 141 (Fireblades)
Mike Best 86* (Legends)
Luke Dingle 69* (Premier Reserve)
Nik Swain 65* (Premier)
Jason Corsbie 51 (Legends)
Nik Swain 48 (Premier)
Mark Houghton 47 (Premier)
Nick Greenwood 47 (Premier)
Tom McHugh 45* (Kamos)
Rohith Yeluri 42 (Premier Reserve)
Sam Bourne 41 (Premier Reserve)

Tom McHugh 4/29 (Kamos)
Sriram Krishnamurthy 4/33 (Premier)

Representative honors

We have had three of our players get selected for Representative honours this week, congrats guys!

Logan van Beek- New Zealand A
Travis Muller- Wellington Firebirds
Patrick Smith- Wellington A

Also Taita welcomes two new players to the club,

Joseph Bowden- joins us from Johnsonville
Nick Greenwood- joins us from Wellington College

Welcome lads!!

Award winners for the 2016/17 season

Team player of the year:


Women's Grade-Becca McHugh


Fireblades-Mahendra Sadaye


Yodhas-Leks Alagappan


Legends- Shay Thomson


Kamos- Henry Clayton


Third Grade-Matthew Heissenbuttel


Premier Reserve- Aaron Curtis/ Sam Bourne 


Premier-Obus Pienaar


Peter Smith Trophy

(Best Bowling Women's)

Carlene Angus


GJ Robertson Trophy

(Most Wickets all Lower Grade Cricket Men)

Hayden Moore



(Best Batting Aggregate Women’s)

Lisa Carter


BR Clarke Cup

(Highest Batting Aggregate Lower Grade Cricket Men)

Matthew Heissenbuttel


Don Hazlett Trophy

(Best Fieldsman in Premier and Premier Reserve)

Obus Pienaar


Ray Tyler Cup

(Best Lower Grade Fielder)

Jonny Hare


Practice Award

Mark Houghton/ Matt McComb


Taita District Cricket Club

(Club Captains Trophy)

Hayden Moore


Stuart Briggs Cup

(Most scores over 30 throughout the Season all Grades)

Obus Pienaar/ Mitchell Scott


KJ Rowley Trophy

(Most Wickets in Premier & Premier Reserve Grades)

Liam Sullivan


Fawcett Plate

(Best Bowling Average in All Grades)

Hayden Moore

Life Members Trophy

(Highest Batting Aggregate in Premier & Premier Reserve Grades)

Obus Pienaar


Vice Presidents Partnership Award

(Open to all teams in the Club)

Jason Doyle/ Tim Brown


Taita Cricket Club Cup

(Best Individual Performance in Lower Grades Mens)

Tom McHugh ( 6/11 and 49* and 29* vs Petone- Riverside- Grade 3)


Petone Radiators Cup

(Best Individual Performance in Intercity Premier & Premier Reserve Grades)

Rohith Yeluri 9/9 vs Upper Hutt


WE Schofer Trophy

(Open to all teams – Points scored throughout the season)

Obus Pienaar


McCurley Cup

(Most Improved Woman's Cricketer - Points scored throughout the Season)

Shayne Martin



(Most Promising Young Cricketer in the Club)

Mitchell Scott


Robin Randell Memorial Cup

(Best Club Member – awarded for Services to the Club over the season)

Johnny Hare


Doug Urry Memorial Trophy

(Cricketer of the Year)

Obus Pienaar



Congrats to the Grade 3 side for winning their final (Played against Eastern Suburbs Super Challengers on 19th March) !! We won by 95 runs...Stars of the show were Tom McHugh 49 (run out second to last ball) and Hayden Moore 6/15.


On Sunday our third side play Eastern Suburbs in the grade 3 final at Kilbirnie Park starting at 12 midday. This side are always supporting all the other teams in the club, so if you can get along Hayden and the team would be very appreciative.


On Saturday 4th of February Taita Cricket celebrated its 7th Taitanium Lunch. This event was used to recognise Mark Houghton, Taita Premier Captains 200th Premier game. Mark first played Premier for Taita in 2002/03 season.

He has scored seven hundreds and is the highest run scorer in our History with over 5300 runs.

We were very fortunate to have Mark Sorenson a Hutt Valley and NZ Softball legend as our key note speaker. A great day was held by all